What I Wore Sunday – Happy Feast of Saint Patrick!

Image

 

Happy Feast of St. Patrick! He is the patron saint of the Archdiocese of Boston, where I worship, so it is a particularly favorite feast. I think there’s even a smidgen of actual Irishness on my dad’s side. Somewhere. So! Today’s outfit HAS to have green, and I was getting concerned until this past week, when Proverbial mom sent me a lovely top for my birthday.

Image

Top: INC at Macy’s. You can actually go into a nation-wide store and find something I’m wearing…right now! Though, in all likelihood, it is on a sale rack. The sleeves have this fun butterfly effect.

Pants: from New York and Company. The skirts were not having it with me today. And it’s only in the 30s today, anyway. Oh well, more reason to suspend my optional penance and have an Irish coffee at brunch.

Reflection: For today, from St. Patrick’s Breastplate, as we contemplate reception of the Body and Blood of Christ in the most Holy Eucharist.

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me.
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

I bind unto myself the Name,
The strong Name of the Trinity,
By invocation of the same,
The Three in One and One in Three.
By Whom all nature hath creation,
Eternal Father, Spirit, Word:
Praise to the Lord of my salvation,
Salvation is of Christ the Lord.

8 thoughts on “What I Wore Sunday – Happy Feast of Saint Patrick!

  1. Your blouse is stunning! And, yeah, we were down to 29 this morning. I am getting quite bored of my small selection of pants and looking forward to skirt weather!

    Oh, yum! I had my first sips of Irish coffee last night!

    Love that prayer.

    • Thanks, Mary! The gray is actually little clear “stones”. The Sunday morning light isn’t quite strong yet. 🙂

  2. I always feel particularly fashionable when something I wear can be bought at the moment, because most of the things I buy are super, super clearance or thrift shop finds! I guess that just means that we can’t have a bunch of fashion copycats, huh?

    What a lovely prayer! I am always very awestruck when I come across that one. So simple, yet so not!

Leave a Reply

