What I Wore Sunday — Palm Sunday

Image

Happy Palm Sunday! It’s hard to believe we’re almost at the end of Lent. This Sunday I wanted to wear something that was indicative of the change in tone…no more purple…but also something subdued, evocative of Christ’s Passion, which we hear in today’s Gospel.

Image

As always, the assorted black thermals.

Top: 3/4-sleeve sweater from New York and Company (last Fall)

Skirt: The Limited. (on sale last Fall)

I feel like Lady Sybil on Downton Abbey when she said that her clothes were from her season and wanted to “wear them out.” After Mass today, I intend to go shopping for a new, or at least, new-to-me, Easter dress.

Reflection: This morning’s Psalm is is 22: “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?” I have been blessed to celebrate Mass at churches with robust music ministries, and every year, I am practically crying in the pews from the sheer guttural, passionate aching despair of the emotion behind this Psalm. And it is one that my heart has cried out on its own during some past seasons in my life.

For personal reasons I won’t get into here, this has been a Lent of discontent. But unlike other seasons, when Psalm 22 was my anthem, I do not feel abandoned by God. It is one of those situations that I share with others, who often wail “Why is this God’s will?” But this time, I don’t blame God. I blame myself for things said or left unsaid, things done, or left undone. I blame others for exercising their free will that seems counter to the “good” that I am seeking. But I do not blame God. No. Even if I don’t show Him enough, I recognize that God has not abandoned me. But I will pray for the strength to not abandon Him.

Holy Week Note: Check back in throughout the week. I’ll have some reflections based on a couple songs that really capture the spirit of Holy Week. I’m unsure if I’ll post a 7QT on Friday. I’d like to, for those who want something spiritual in the midst of their day.

 

13 thoughts on “What I Wore Sunday — Palm Sunday

    • Thanks, Colleen! At this point in my professional and creative lives, I’m keeping the blog anonymous. Maybe one day…

  1. That is one sweet skirt!

    I am sorry that you are experiencing despair, whatever the cause. I respect your need for privacy, and pray that as you hold that hurt deep in your heart, you will one day feel great relief due to the prayers given for you by strangers like me and those you love. <3+

  2. a beautiful reflection…just beautiful. How awesome is God to never leave us especially in our hour of need. I love the chevron design on your skirt as well. Have a wonderful Passion Week.

  3. Your outfit is lovely..i agree the Chevron skirt is spot-on. I am sorry for the hard time you are going through, but you can never go wrong clinging to Christ and His Promises. He will never leave you nor forsake you (Deut 31:6) May you find peace celebrating the Resurrection of our Savior!

Leave a Reply

