WIWS: Surrexit Christus! He is Risen!

newbutton

Happy Easter, everyone!

Photo on 3-31-13 at 10.05 AM

mint-dress-yellow-cardigan

NEW, IN-SEASON Dress: Jessica Simpson collection, Lord & Taylor. Yay for sales and coupons and birthday money! And Zooey Deschanel wore it too! If my iPhotoBooth had a paparazzi-quality lens, I could capture the joy that this mint color is. Of course, I added what I call a “modesty tab”…hooks onto your bra–no bunching or extra weight like a cami. šŸ™‚

White cardigan: Old Navy.

It was nice and sunny and warmish Easter morning, so I did well with a rain coat. Then it got windy and overcast, so the high of 59 did not feel as warm as it should have.

Reflection: The Triduum is my favorite liturgy of the year. This year, I received what I call Good Friday “grace,” which I wasn’t really attuned to until Saturday morning. After waking at a hideous hour after a disappointing amount of sleep, I roused myself enough to get to morning prayer at my parish. Though Lent was at an end, I had a goal to speak to Person involved in the whole “discontent” issue I mentioned last week. The “Good Friday grace” I received compelled me to just say “yes” to what was offered to me: do a reading during the prayer (I hate public speaking); assist with decorating the church for the Vigil (but I wanted to get to L&T before the special coupons ran out). By saying yes, I was graced with making new acquaintances and even receiving a compliment for my reading! The preparation for decorating was physical work, but the good kind of physical and Easter lily pollen reminders of the day decorating my sweater. And as you can tell by my photo, still made it to L&T in time for a coupon. šŸ™‚ But the biggest grace of all was to have a truly splendid rest of the day, the weight off my heart lifted, and on Easter night, I called Person a very nervous girl and hung up a much more relieved and happy girl.

8 thoughts on “WIWS: Surrexit Christus! He is Risen!

    • Thank you, Mandi! I had no idea about Zooey until after I bought it when I went to look up a clearer image of some of the details. šŸ™‚

  1. This looks so lovely! I love the colors. Did you make your modesty tab? I have added modesty panels to low necklines and thought of making something that you could attach to the bra without attaching to the shirt like yours.

    • Thanks, Stacey! Alas, I am not crafty enough to make my own things. Mine came in a 3-pack (black, white, neutral) from CVS! One of those “As seen on TV items.” šŸ˜› But if you could make them so they lie flush along the bust line (mine bunch up), that’d be a better seller. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

