“Hi, My Name is Britt, and I’m Single”

“Hi, Britt.”

“I’ve been Not Alone for 6 years!”

*polite soft clapping*

Image

Okay, seriously, hello ladies! I am so glad to join in on this new series! Thank you Jen and Morgan for hosting! (Click the image to meet others!)

About me: I am 28 and sometimes think it’s really weird that I’ve been an “adult” for a full decade now, especially since I seem to live and breathe children’s and YA books. I am going to have one published in January! I have an awesome job involving Catholicism and interact with nuns a lot in the Boston-ish area, but due to the type of position, it’s best if I’m a little discreet about what I do exactly.

About this blog: Here at Proverbial Girlfriend, I like to blog about women’s issues, Catholic issues, and issues from a Catholic woman’s perspective. While not specifically targeted toward singles, married, or religious, I do hope that this blog can be a dedicated space for women like me—on the scary side of 25, living in the world but trying not to be of it as a faithful Catholic woman, and demonstrating the dignity of our femininity beyond being a wife or mother.

About my singleness: So, I am a bit of an oddball. I have many lovely girlfriends who are unmarried—but only one is Catholic and seeking marriage. She’s 37. Given my community, it can be hard to connect and process about this season of my life. And while I love my mother and older sister, they think “practicing Catholic” is too high a standard to ask of in a mere boyfriend. Sigh. I am very glad to have found you ladies!

About my search: As I did not date in high school or college (quite inadvertently), I’ve only really experienced 6 years of seeking a relationship that could lead to marriage, divided into 3 distinct phases:

  1. Spaghetti Dating: For my first two years (coinciding with grad school), I went onto CatholicMatch and went out with men with the mind-frame of “I’ll throw this up against the wall and see what sticks.” No one.
  2. Happy Original Solitude…or Dry Spell?: After too many tears (more often the guy’s! :shameface:), I deiced to take a long break to really figure out what I wanted, which turned into two years of no dates. In that time, I graduated with my MFA, flung myself into the Catholic circles around town, and thought I’d see what kind of faithful guy I could get. Not a one.
  3. Found My Vocation, Now Where’s the Groom?: For the past two years, I have really become more and more convicted that this desire to marry has been put in my heart by God (more to come next week!) and that I will be called to the vocation of marriage with…someone. After one 3-month relationship that ended abruptly (his call 😦 ) and 1 date who couldn’t keep up contact, I obviously haven’t found “The One”

At this particular moment, I am very grateful to connect with other women like me and support one another in this season. Blessings to you this week!

 

12 thoughts on ““Hi, My Name is Britt, and I’m Single”

  1. So nice to meet you!! 🙂 And thanks for joinging us! I am so excited 🙂

    I am doing the CM thing right now… eh, it’s not the greatest. I feel like I am the only one that is seriously about it. Ah, well.. such is life. I can’t wait to read more of what you got! Woot!

  2. I found out I am the oldest of the group ^_^ But hey it’s only a number our heart is always young. ^_^ Anyway, I got married at the age of 38 and never regretted it. I found the right guy God had given me. He is worth the wait I tell you. ^_^ But I also understand the feeling of being alone and wondering if the man will come by I’ve been there than that hehehe. But with prayers it did come. I like to share this to you. I prayed a novena to St. Joseph at the end of the nine days novena I asked God specifically that a man that I would marry is going to give me a single pink rose. You know how many years I have to with for that, it takes ten years lol!! After that there is no looking back when you seek, ask and knock God will give it to you we just have to wait. Hope to read more of you next time.

  3. Can’t wait to read more about your story! I know what you mean about family members thinking our standards are too high–I just entered the church last year, and last summer I had a friend of the family tell me that it’s a good that I’m looking for a church-going guy because he’ll likely have “old-fashioned” ideas about dating…hahah thanks?

Leave a Reply

