7QTFriday, I’m in Love

7_quick_takes_sm1

-1-

…with baking soda toothpaste as anti-itch cream. I went to the beach this past Saturday and got eaten alive. Several web sites mentioned a variety of natural cures including a baking soda paste or a toothpaste smear. My toothpaste has both! Worked better than apple cider vinegar and even hydrocortisone cream.

IMAG0156

This isn’t even the worst one.

-2-

…with the “Not Alone” series/link-up. So wonderful to be introduced to lovely singleton bloggers. Each week I learn something new about myself and about this Catholic life of ours.

-3-

…with the pages of my novel! I got a sneak peek, and they are lovely. The font is light and airy, with a fresh femininity, and just a hint of drama. I actually got to help pick it out: me, my editor, and the designer going through about 30 different fonts. The editor and I each marked about 12 that we liked, and had about 7 in common. Of those, our favorite was the first. It feels fitting—when my sister went wedding dress shopping, the first gown she tried on was her favorite. 🙂

-4-

…air-conditioning. I don’t have my unit in at the apartment, and work took for-ev-er. But I finally got it Tuesday afternoon, right in the middle  of a heat wave, exactly when I needed it! 😀

-5-

…the kindness of strangers. A cabbie saw me standing at the bus stop on a rainy afternoon and offered to take me to the terminal for free, as he was headed that way and remembered the days of riding the 51, which would sometimes leave you waiting 51 minutes for it.

Cue the score from the “A Streetcar Named Marge” Simpsons episode:

“You can always depend on the kindness of strangers…To pluck up your spirits, and shield you from dangers…Now here’s a tip from Blanche you won’t regret…A stranger’s just a friend you haven’t met…You haven’t met…”

-6-

…the way that I can listen to this song and think not of what Alicia Keys was intending to say, but how most of it reminds me of St. Catherine of Siena.

-7-

…with my quirky musical Ignatian-ness, seeing God and his creation and message in music. Hey, if we can take over Saturnalia, we can take over the Top 40

Leave a Reply

