7QTF: End of January

7_quick_takes_sm1

Don’t forget to check out Jen and the other bloggers!

[1]

So I checked my author email account, and a helpful browser asked if I had a profile on okcupid, because he was pretty sure that person was using my picture. She was. It is in no way a profile any faithful Catholic woman or author for children (especially about teens and chastity!) should be associated with. As my editor calls it, I “got my Boston on” and sent a firm little email to the website. And then double checked all my social media privacy settings.

[2]

Highlight from the NAS topic of Guess who’s engaged?: Morgan at Follow and Believe. She captures the Jekyll-and-Hyde feeling of a single gal hearing of yet another engagement to a T:

“At times, seeing others’ happiness gives me hope that the Lord truly does have a plan for me, too.
And other times, I just want to throw a television off a bridge.”
Yup, that is exactly it.

The next subject is: Chastity: A Choice. Living chastely (not just abstinence) is a choice. Have you ever had to defend your choice to live out chastity? If not, why do you choose chastity?

[3]

I’m thinking I might do a book review next week and link up with “What We’re reading Wednesday.” Just not sure which book, though. Maybe a double header if I finish what I start tonight.

 [4]

Virtue of the Week: Temperance. This week I’ve been pretty good about eating healthfully. After an anything-goes Fall and holiday season without much exercise, nothing is fitting. So I’ve cut out 90% of the sugar and carbs I used to consume and can already feel difference. I still have a ways to go, but the hard part of setting the standard seems to be passing.  🙂

[5]

Vice of the Week: Doubt. I look at doubt as Denying Our Understanding of Beautiful Trust. Not sure why, but I’ve had few moments doubting something, when I really had no reason to. Pesky inner demons. I do have a little confidence that God will give me some reassurance, though.

[6]

Special Intention: For two of my aunts and for all people dealing with cancer and their families.

[7]

Book!: Here’s an excerpt:

“Suddenly, the last line of the song that Mrs. Fermacelli played a few weeks ago starts playing in my head on repeat: ‘Lead me to the truth and I will follow you with my whole life.’ I think that’s what I’ve been wanting al along. To know what the truth is about love. And there’s that Bible verse where Jesus says, ‘I am the Way, and the Truth, and the Life.’ So the song coud also mean that I need to be lead to Jesus. Well, here I am.’”

*Song lyrics from “White Blank Page” by Mumford and Sons printed in book with license from Hal Leonard.

 

Leave a Reply

