NAS: Freebie: Behold, I Make All Things New

Hello there! Can I just say it feels really weird not to be linking up with the NAS ladies that often? I know there was the anything-goes week last Tuesday, but, well, I missed it and am so so late. So much is happening in my life right now! I moved states, and though I thought my new situation would foster more blog writing, it’s actually impeded it for just a little while. But I am here and excited to get back in the swing of things next month!

I moved. I know. I just did this last year. Just 12 short moths ago, I packed up an apartment in unfavorable conditions (slog of summer with no air conditioning) and made a radical change in my life. I got a new zip code, a new roommate, a new car (well, to me), and basically a whole “new” life.

Now yet again I am gaining all things new: job, living situation (roommate with a dog, not a cat!), a whole new STATE. The literal kind, as in one of the 50 in this country.

It’s funny to think back to most of my post-college twenties. I didn’t realize it at the time, but life was very much unchanged. Same apartment for 5 years. Same way of getting to work, even if what I did for work changed. Same way of living the single life. No real change—of anything concrete or anything spiritual.

But now I seem to be making radical changes more and more frequently and with lower anxiety. I am beginning to think that this new capacity of myself is the work of God, preparing me to handle radical changes with more frequency and grace because now and the future are When Things Happen For Me. As Mr. Sweet and I more seriously discern a future together, I will have to be prepared to make radical changes when I get engaged (negotiating the desires of two families and our own), when I get married, when I have children.

And I couldn’t do any of it without God’s grace. This past summer I’ve reflected a lot on the verses from Revelation 21:

“He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there shall be no more death or mourning, wailing or pain, [for] the old order has passed away.”d

5The one who sat on the throne* said, “Behold, I make all things new.” Then he said, “Write these words down, for they are trustworthy and true.”e

The old orders in my world are passing away. The Trinity is transforming my life into something new. Sometimes change is hard–cataclysmic, even. There have been moments during my transformation in which in the midst it was difficult to see the end–to go from the ugh-feelings to the other side when all is right with my world. But what gets me through them is the trust and hope and faith in the promise of God that yes, he will make this all new and bright and beautiful. And He’s not just making circumstances new, but me, too.  I will be a new person, and if I let my Creator fashion me, I know I will love the person I become.

 

Leave a Reply

