7QTF: Where I’ve Been, Where I’m Going

seven-quick-takes-friday-2-300x213

Thanks to Kelly for hosting! Be sure to check out the fun!

Well, HI, y’all! It’s been, what, 4 months since I last blogged? It’s both hard to believe so much time has passed and yet so easy. Just what HAVE I been doing with myself? And now what?

[1]

I GOT MARRIED! Oh thank Heaven for 7-11!

I have lots to say about getting married and wedding planning and the day itself, but for now, here’s a taste of such a joyous day.

11745917_10207296249423979_7071582895993289233_n

11062779_10101135865139285_1866874014070342781_n

11753690_10107226062369901_7668024770291746503_n

[2]

I got a promotion! I’m now a co-lead of a children’s department at a bookstore. This new job was offered on March 25, and I gave my “yes.” But now I have a lot of complicated feelings about it.

[3]

Though it seems like the two events above are good enough reasons to have slacked on my writing, I feel they are not. I still read the amazing blogs of some amazing women who have so much more going on and yet still find the time to use their charism in the world. To be honest, in late Lent where I was spiritually was…not…good. Not in like a sin sense, but just a general torpitude. One of these days I may write about acedia.

[4]

Where I’m going #1: Back to my old self. The one who spent her mental energies not on anxiety about issues surrounding the wedding day, but on composing blog posts in her head and setting aside an hour to work on a picture book manuscript, or even – gasp! – shirking her duties to draft pieces of a manuscript.

[5]

#2: To a hospital sometime in early August. I’m going to be an aunt again! PJ, my husband, is going to be an uncle! His sister is due with the family’s first grandchild very soon, and we are all so excited to welcome this little guy. Of course, the timing of her pregnancy and our marriage beginning has prompted lots of questions, but PJ and I have decided not to be so open about our “plans,” intentions, etc.  The Internet can be a scary place for women, especially surrounding pregnancy, childbirth, and parenting, that I felt no matter what we said, there might be unnecessary or hurtful judgy comments from the peanut gallery. Which I probably might make into a “Just Don’t Say It” post if Amanda at Worthy of Agape will take it.  Here’s our answer I that I think about covers it:

We definitely want children, and while we have a general idea, when they come is when they come, and we’ll be so very happy, and hope you will be too. 

[6]

#3: To the World Meeting of Families! PJ and I are so excited to see the pope! And we will be excited to meet any of you who are going, too! If you are and want to try to meet up, do shoot me an email!

[7]

#4: To where I feel God has been leading me all along. So much of the above is all interconnected, I think. I believe God is calling me to be a good Catholic woman, writer, and wife, and I will slowly start the process of integrating my whole life to express those identities in the way I think He wants me to, as opposed to me making decisions (work-wise especially) that jsut stymy progress or actually cause me to regress.

Pray for me, and I’m praying for you!

6 thoughts on “7QTF: Where I’ve Been, Where I’m Going

    • Congratulations to you, anniversary buddy! 😀 And thank you so much! You look so beautiful and happy and glowy! 🙂

  1. Yay! So happy to see you writing again!! And reading between the lines…I really related to a lot of what you said! I got married May 22 and the engagement was such an interesting season for me spiritually and mentally! Marriage provides both an exciting and an overwhelming “fresh start” to be the woman/wife/writer God is calling me to be…but one day at a time.

    Hugs and prayers!

    And I think my new husband and I might be going to World Meeting of Families!

    • Yay! Congrats to you, Laura! Keep me posted about your Philly plans! Would love to meet up at some point if you’re there!

Leave a Reply

