7QTF: WMOF Highlights + GIVEAWAY

seven-quick-takes-friday-2-300x213

Hello, Kelly, and everyone!

A tasting of some World Meeting of Family tidbits and a giveaway at the end of this post!

[1]

The Synod on the Family ends Sunday, and given my lack of knowledge, presence at the actual thing, and general distrust of media being able to capture the true gist of the thing amid needing to file constant stories before the “whole story” is actually solidified, I have nothing to say. But I do want to reflect a month late on the World Meeting of Families, because a conference of such magnitude, importance, and practical application for our lives going forward should not be forgotten or deemed irrelevant anymore. So, first, a handy all-in-one link-a-palooza to my current reflections on the recent papal visit. Encounter, Witness, Solidarity, Waiting, and Sight.

[2]

Before each keynote address, the organizers played videos from Humanum International. You can view all videos of this beautiful series for FREE here. If we could get babysitting set up at the parish, I’d love to do a little “date night” course or single-day event to share this lovely documentary on the meaning of marriage, sexuality, and family.

[3]

Cardinal Luis Tagle brought down the house during his keynote address when he sang from this song during his keynote address:

We are not meant to live alone. We all have to work together to make sure our Church house is a true home, and I believe we can do that by ensuring our little domestic church houses are true homes, filled with love. I had been wondering throughout the WMOF what I specifically we do or how I make my vocation to marriage a true witness, and I think it’s simply that–modeling love.

[4]

I have a favorite from the conference: Helen Alvaré. I may just write a future post about both her keynote and breakout session.

[5]

Dr. Timothy O’Donnell quoted St. Padre Pio: “Television is the tabernacle of the devil.” Dude, that is so my life. Not that I’m watching sinful shows, just that it contributes to the noonday demon I struggle with, acedia. Maybe if I turned off the re-runs of shows I’ve seen before, I’d have written the blog posts I’ve been wanting to, about that very devil! The struggle is real, y’all.

[6]

Speaking of writing, I was inspired enough to finally dust off a draft of something and submit it somewhere. I have encouraging news, but not enough details to share just yet. This tidbit is only tangentially related to the WMOF in that I really wanted to share insights into a particular situation in a way that would honor the Church’s teachings on relationships, which PJ and I had heard a lot about. Plus, I could really use the prayers, as this this really slow start could be the “thing” I need to get my desired career really cooking.

[7]

As a thank you, I’d like to do a giveaway! I have two sets of prizes, and many ways to get entries to win.

For the soon-to-be or already-engaged couples, the “Bridal Bundle.” Bridal Bargains was a great, compact resource when making so many decisions during wedding planning. The Knot Guide for the Groom is a fun little guide with mainly practical tips that helps a guy feel invested and informed (it’s his wedding, too!), and not too much stereotyping. For a Catholic wedding guide, everyone gets the recommendation to check out Stephanie Calis’s Invited.

20151019_131157

And for all the single ladies out there, I have three books for ya: The Closet’s All Mine: From a Seraphic Single by Dorothy Dummings (McLean), How to Find Your Soulmate without Losing Your Soul: 21 Secrets for Women by Jason and Crystalina Evert, and The Catholic Girl’s Survival Guide to the Single Years by Emily Stimpson.

 20151019_132023

To get one of these fine books, you can

  • Comment which bundle you’d like = 1 entry
  • Friend me on Facebook (just message me, too, that this is from the blog) = 2 entries
  • Share this giveaway blog post on social media = 3 entries per unique social media forum share
  • Share another blog post from me on social media = 5 entries per unique social media forum share per post
  • Write a review of my novel for teens, Ten Commandments for Kissing Gloria Jean, and send me the link = 7 entries
  • Write a review of the novel and share it with others = 10 entries, plus one extra for each social media venue you share it with

Giveaway runs through Friday, November 6, November 10 at 5 pm EST. On Wednesday, November 11, I’ll announce the winner. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

