My Sunday Best

Linking up with Rosie and the rest!

wp-1464548541387.jpg

We’re having our first heat wave in new England this weekend—indices getting to 90+ every day. Thankfully, the parish my husband and I attend has central a/c (I told him that was a requirement. Props/hat-tip/courtsey to all the ladies who make it to church with no cooling dressed appropriately.

Dress: A spaghetti strap number from Columbia. At one point when I got it a few years ago it had SPF and even some water resistance. It’s so comfy, and nearly perfect for 3 months pregnant me, what with the roomy skirt. But the built-in panel around the bust just kills me now. Add in the stuffing myself at the monthly young couples’ potluck afterward, and I knew it was time to retire it. It went straight into the “nope bin” after Mass along with the rest of my wardrobe.

Shrug: Old Navy knit. I LOVE shrugs. So perfect for  tossing over “inappropriate” work/church clothes.

That black thing: What I call “modesty tabs”…you just hook them onto bra straps and volia! coverage! So much better than layering a full tank/camisole on the warm days. And I got them (a pack of three–black, white, and tan) with one of my many CVS coupons!

Sandals: IDK…Payless? Or Old Navy? I don’t pay much attention to where I get them.

I hope you’ll permit me to do this, but I wrote a book about a young teen girl who loves fashion–and her faith–and I’m giving it away! 5 signed copies of Ten Commandments for Kissing Gloria Jean. Enter the link below. Thanks!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

8 thoughts on “My Sunday Best

  1. I love “that black thing!” I’ve never seen anything like that. I will definitely have to keep my eyes open for something like that – I’m okay now but it seems like 90% of maternity things are deep v cuts. Why?!

  2. I had the exact same problem with my dress today! It barely buttoned around my ribs, and it’s going into storage once it’s clean! I always forget about how much bigger my ribs get…

    I love shrugs, too! I have a tough time finding them – I need more, but mostly I just give up and wear wide straps because anything with sleeves makes me feel like I’m going to pass out once summer temperatures hit 😦 Thanks for linking up!!

  3. I was just thinking of inventing something like that black thing–thank you for sharing about it! I’m going to scour the internet now to find one!!! You look so lovely!

Leave a Reply

